To:	Faculty Senate, PA Senate, Student Government
From:	FDU's Governance Steering Council
Date:	February 5, 2025
Re:	Task Force on Open Educational Resources
C:	Ana Fontoura, University Librarian Robert Valenti, Associate Vice President for Auxiliary Services Catherine Kelley, Associate Provost Isabel Comp, Executive Assistant, Office of the President

The Governance Steering Council reviewed a proposal Ana Fontoura to enhance the University's approach to open educational resources.

We have reviewed the proposal and have concluded that it would be good for the University to re-engage in this important issue, recognizing, however, the primacy of the principle of academic freedom for faculty to choose the textbooks they deem appropriate for each course they teach, in consultation with their colleagues with whom, collectively, they own the curriculum.

To that end, appended below, please find a list of the people who were on a similar task force in 2020-2021.

The Faculty Senate, PA Senate, and Student Government are asked to appoint representatives from their stakeholder bodies to serve on this task force. We ask you to name your representatives to this task force no later than March 1, 2025, and to inform Isabel Comp of the names of your representatives by that date.

The charge of the task force is as follows:

Given the increasing cost of textbooks and the burden those costs place on FDU students, considering the current state of open educational resources and bundled packaging of textbooks as well as strategies for their use adopted at other institutions, develop a proposal to encourage faculty to consider such resources for their own curricula and opportunities for faculty to learn more about how to use such materials.

The Provost appoints Ana Fontoura as co-chair of this task force and ask the Faculty Senate to appoint a faculty member to serve as the other co-chair.

Sincerely,

Matthieu Boyd, Co-Chair of the Governance Steering Council and Benjamin Rifkin, Co-Chair of the Governance Steering Council

Members of the Previous Task Force on This Topic

- Ana Fontoura (Co-Chair), University Librarian
- Catherine Kelley (Co-Chair), Associate Provost for Educational Resources & Assessment
- Craig Mourton (Co-Chair), Deputy Campus Executive, Metropolitan Campus
- Michele Barto (Education, School of Hospitality, Metro)
- Ben Freer (Psychology, Metro)
- Ajay Garg (Public Affairs, Vancouver)
- Erin Graulich (Nursing)
- James Gifford (CORE, Vancouver)
- Saskia Kusnecov (Librarian)
- Zhiwei Mao (Engineering, Metro)
- Shalin Mehta (Student Government, Florham)
- Maame Mensah (Student Government, Metro)
- Shreya Patel (Pharmacy, Florham)
- Martha Pitts (Humanities, Metro)
- Sara Reynolds (Biology, Florham)
- Neelu Sinha (Natural Sciences Florham)
- Sora Suh (Education, Metro)
- Denise R. Tracy (Math, Florham)
- Rob Wolf (Librarian)